Counseling Fees at DFI
We understand that choosing to engage in therapy is an investment of time, energy, and money. At Denver Family Institute, our goal is to provide high quality affordable counseling services to families, individuals, and couples in Colorado. We often work with those unable to afford private therapists’ full-fee rates and those unable to access services through insurance. Clients can access all types of therapy services at DFI, many of which may not be covered by insurance or Medicaid. It is common for clients to work with different DFI therapists to receive family, couples and/or individual therapy simultaneously, depending on their therapeutic goals.
We offer sliding scale therapy services based on the client’s annual household income to ensure that therapy is affordable. We take life circumstances into account when looking at the annual household income.
DFI now accepts Colorado Access Medicaid
Sliding Scale Services
$25-$75 per therapy session: this level of sliding scale services are intended for households with income levels of $75,000 or less. Clients receiving this level of services are typically assigned to a graduate or postgraduate level therapist studying Marriage and Family Therapy at DFI. Sessions provided by current trainees at DFI are discreetly recorded for training purposes only.
$80 – $130 per therapy session: this level of sliding scale services are intended for households with income levels above $75,000. Clients receiving this level of services are typically assigned to a postgraduate therapist also known as “externs” who has already completed their training at DFI. Sessions provided by extern therapists may be recorded for training purposes, however, it is unlikely that every session will be recorded.
Other Mental Health Services
In addition to sliding scale counseling services, DFI offers case management, mental health workshops, group therapy, and more. Learn more about all of DFI’s mental health services.
Good Faith Estimate
You have the right to receive a “Good Faith Estimate” explaining how much your medical care will cost.
Under the law, health care providers need to give patients who don’t have insurance or who are not using insurance an estimate of the bill for medical items and services.
- You have the right to receive a Good Faith Estimate for the total expected cost of any non-emergency items or services. This includes related costs like medical tests, prescription drugs, equipment, and hospital fees.
- Make sure your health care provider gives you a Good Faith Estimate in writing at least 1 business day before your medical service or item. You can also ask your health care provider, and any other provider you choose, for a Good Faith Estimate before you schedule an item or service.
- If you receive a bill that is at least $400 more than your Good Faith Estimate, you can dispute the bill.
- Make sure to save a copy or picture of your Good Faith Estimate.
For questions or more information about your right to a Good Faith Estimate, visit www.cms.gov/nosurprises or call the Colorado Division of Insurance at 303-894-7490 or 1-800-930-3745.